Whyalla Town Primary School has a proud educational history of 115 years in Whyalla.
Our school was the first school to open in Whyalla on the 12th April 1905 with 19 students on the roll.
In this section ▼
Our school motto is Latin “Labore et Honore”, which means “Live by Work and Honour”.
The early days
In the beginning, our school was known as “Hummock Hill School” and it was a wooden and iron building situated on the northern side of the BHP tramway near the powerhouse.
The school was moved to its present site in 1918 and renamed ‘Whyalla School’, which later became ‘Whyalla Town Primary School’ and this has remained our identity until this day.
Kinnane-Sugg Memorial Building
Our recently upgraded STEM Building/Library is unique because it is also a War Memorial. The Kinnane-Sugg Memorial Building was first opened on 15th September 1945.
It is dedicated to the memory of two former school teachers – J Kinnane and EJ Sugg, who were killed during World War II. A plaque and their photographs in their honour can be seen in the school gymnasium.